A quicky before bed

January 2, 2011

It’s 2011. This kinda sucks as time is moving on faster and faster each year. Then again, when I’m feeling shitty, it feels like its as slow as all hell.
This post is mainly for myself, a bit of a nudge in the right direction.

While there seems to be plenty of talk about new years resolutions, I don’t think anything as rigid as that will work.
This year, I’m talking about steps. Nothing so out-dated as the band, but a hell of a lot less disabling than the ones in minibuses.
Everyone I talk to about achieving your goals says “baby steps”. But what I struggle with is working out how baby, where do I start, and where do I find the internal fortitude to carry on, even though it might be a pain in the breaches.

My list of goals for the year will probably get a hell of a lot longer, but here it is so far:
1. take all of my medication: all day, every day, no matter what it is
2. Request refills or make doctors appointments to get them with adequate time before the medication I need runs out
3. Exercise more: swim, dance, whatever I can think of.
4. Set a bedtime routine and stick to it
5. Eat regular meals rather than skipping them to stay in bed aleep
6 Make healthier food choices
7 Get back up to speed reading braille: I haven’t read a lot of braille for example a novel in a long time. Doing this will tire me out more each day, improve my skills and strengthen the muscles in my wrists without damaging them too badly (I hope)
8. Recognise that I’m not the most important person in the world: life is not a game of one-upmanship.
9 Learn to pace myself so I can do more with less energy: it is possible, I just need to learn perseverance and patience.

Of course, most of this depends on energy and pain levels. This isn’t a get out of jail free card, but an allowance for a bit more patience and strategising with myself.

I sincerely hope that’s it for now, and I don’t remember another half dozen things while I’m trying to sleep.
Its late enough, so I’m going to bed. Night all!

Leave a Reply

